Michigan City Public Library
Check out these hot titles that will be released in the next few months!
Browse, check out, and download eBooks and eAudiobooks from Michigan City Public Library using the Axis 360 app! It's simple -- just download the app on your device, find our library, and log in using yuor library card number.
The collection includes popular fiction, non-fiction, and children's ebooks that you can download to your iOS/Android smartphone/tablet, Kindle Fire, or Windows PC. Patrons need a current Michigan City library card and PIN.
Just need eBooks, eAudiobooks, or other online resources? Apply now for our eCard! Find out more...
You can get a free regular library card if you are:
To get your free card, you must show picture identification and proof of current address. (A driver's license or state ID with your current local address is the most common identification/proof of address). A parent or guardian must sign the card application for individuals under 16 years of age. Parents or guardians must show valid identification and possess a Michigan City Public Library card in good standing.
If you don't live in Indiana but want to become a borrower, you can obtain an out-of-state card for an annual fee. Call 219-873-3042 or check at the Circulation Desk for pricing.
If Michigan City Library is your home library and you wish to become a member at another Indiana library, you are eligible to purchase a Public Library Access Card (PLAC). This card entitles you to borrow materials from all of the 238 public libraries in Indiana. For price information and to purchase a PLAC card, inquire at the Circulation Department. You may also use your Michigan City Library card to obtain a free card from any of our reciprocal libraries, including LaPorte County Public Library.
Lost Library Cards
You should report a lost or stolen library card to the library immediately by calling 219-873-3042. You are responsible for items checked out on your card. You can get a replacement library ca rd at the Circulation Desk for a fee of $2.00.
You must be 18 or older to check out Adult Feature Films and DVDs.
New card applicants are allowed to borrow two items per visit until they receive their card in the mail.
You may borrow up to 30 items total, including:
Current bestsellers/new release fiction and non-fiction books: 1 week
All other books, magazines, audiobooks, Playaways, music CDs, and puppets: 3 weeks
eBooks and eAudiobooks: 2 weeks (eBooks and eAudiobooks automatically expire from your device at the end of the loan period--no late fees)
DVDs: 1 week
Launchpad tablets: 1 week
There is a 15 cent per day per item charge for overdue items.
If you lose an item, you will be charged the cost of replacing the item, any accumulated fines, and a processing fee ($5.00 for books, audiobooks, DVDs, CDs, and puppets; $2.00 for magazine issues). If you find and return a lost item in undamaged condition within 30 days, a refund for the cost of the item will be given. Processing fees and fines are non-refundable.
IIf you have damaged an item that is checked out on your card, you will be charged for the cost of the item, any accumulated fines and a processing fee ($5.00 for books, audiobooks, DVDs, CDs, and puppets; $2.00 for magazine issues). These fees represent the library's costs for repairing the damage done and purchasing and processing replacement items. Payment of these fees does not affect the ownership of the item. Library materials are not for sale and cannot be purchased, regardless of the condition of the material. The library reserves the right to dispose of damaged or discarded material appropriately.
You may renew your materials online through your online account. You may also renew by phone at 219-873-3042 or 219-873-3062, or in person at the Circulation Desk. If another patron has placed an item on reserve, the item cannot be renewed.You may renew an item only once.
If you are looking for an item that is checked out, you can place it on hold through the online catalog, by phone at 219-873-3042 or 219-873-3062, or in person at the Circulation Desk. When the item is returned, we will contact you and hold it for you at the Circulation Desk. Reserves will be held for 7 days from the time of notification. A fee of 50 cents will be charged for any item put on reserve. Patrons will be charged regardless of whether the reserve book is checked out or not.
Materials that are checked in and on shelf can be held for you at the Circulation Desk for up to 48 hours. Please call 219-873-3044 to have materials pulled for you. There is a limit of two items per patron for pulled materials.
Drop Box Locations